Okotoks Dawgs win sixth league title

Spread the love

Article content material The Okotoks Dawgs are 2022 Western Canadian Baseball League kings. Article content material That after Thursday night time’s Recreation 3 victory — a 4-1 affair — over the Moose Jaw Miller Categorical within the championship sequence at Seaman Stadium. Alex Stufft had a two-RBI night, whereas Brady Baltus pitched a two-hit win for the home-side Dawgs in incomes the 2-1 sequence triumph for the franchise’s sixth league crown. The Dawgs additionally earned titles in 2004, ’07, ’08, ’09 and ’19. In Recreation 3, the Dawgs received on the board within the first inning, when McCoy Pearce knocked house Brendan Luther on a ground-out. However the Categorical bounced again to even up the rating within the second when Greyson Barrett doubled to plate Joe Osborn. The distinction within the recreation got here within the fourth body, when Stufft and Caleb Lumbard introduced in runs. Stufft’s sacrifice fly scored Jacob Morrow, and Lumbard’s single plated Alejandro Cazorla for a 3-1 Dawgs lead. Article content material Stufft then gave the house facet added insurance coverage within the fifth inning, when he singled in Micah McDowell. Reduction pitcher Matt Wilkinson got here on to slam the door shut within the remaining two innings, putting out 4 Categorical batters. To bridge the hole from starter Baltus, who allowed only one run and struck out 9, to nearer Wilkinson, Dawgs teammates Rylan Penner and Cade Hermann additionally put up zeroes of their reduction appearances for the house squad at Seaman. The victory clinches the championship for the Dawgs, who went 6-1 within the playoffs after a record-breaking 43-13 WCBL marketing campaign within the 11-team loop. Solely the Categorical saddled them with a loss, which got here in Wednesday’s must-win Recreation 2 for the house crew in Moose Jaw. The Okotoks Dawgs’ Micah McDowell makes an enormous catch in opposition to the Moose Jaw Miller Categorical in the course of the deciding Recreation 3 of their WCBL championship sequence at Seaman Stadium in Okotoks on Thursday, Aug. 18, 2022. Photograph by Darren Makowichuk /Postmedia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.